Kally Jo Surbeck!

October 31, 2008 | Karin's Blog | 17 comments

Hey, everyone, I’d like to hand the floor over to my friend Kally Jo Surbeck!  Her high fantasy, romance, action adventure release: Whispered Promise, Book II Yadderwal Balance hits the shelves this week!   Check out www.Samhainpublishing.com or www.Amazon.com

 

 

 

Lord Fiontenhal Banaghal Gellert, the thirteenth Marquis De LaRounge, heir to Numarea helped save Yadderwal proper, but can he save the world for one woman?

 

 

Lord Fiontenhal Banaghal Gellert, the thirteenth Marquis De LaRounge, heir to Numarea is a gifted alchemist who has just helped save the planet.  Tannah ust Nairn, merchant’s daughter, mercenary who is held captive by the vile soul stealer Keegan is his soul mate.  Keegan has promised Tannah her freedom if she does what she is told, give herself to him, become his possession.  Linked through their dreams, Fionn goes in search of Tannah, to save her from a fate worse than death.  But will their love be enough?  Can he find her in time and keep his Whispered Promise?

 

 

Here’s an excerpt:

 

“Do not be afraid.” Keegan stopped her. He clasped her shoulder, sliding his hand from the loose fabric of her blouse to the exposed flesh of her neck and then to her chin. His cold fingers feathered across her cheekbone. “My men will not harm you…not unless they are ordered to do so. I’m certain you would not do anything so foolish as to make that necessary. Now, would you?”

 

She hated to speak. Any movement on her part made his touch feel more of a caress instead of empty stillness. With as little change in her facial expression as possible, she murmured her reply. “No.”

 

“No.” His smile did not even make it fully past his lips. “Of course not.”

 

She stepped back from him, turning on her heel. Distance gave her confidence, clarity of mind. No, his men wouldn’t harm her. They would not even look at her and it had nothing to do with Keegan’s perceived power. She was the princess of the EtherWorld. She could only imagine what they thought she could do to them if they but lay a single finger on her precious skin.

 

“Do not walk away from me.”

 

Tannah, no matter how brave she would like to consider herself, would not have disobeyed that order if the Joint World Treaty had depended on it. Enchantment and true authority radiated in his command.

Keegan pursed his lips together in a distinct frown. When he did, it made the scars on his face seem angrier, more intense. He folded his bulging arms over his chest. Today he wore dark green and black. She’d seen these, his colors, proudly displayed on his banners and uniforms, but until she had been brought out of the cell, she’d thought the colors just differing shades of black. The tailored lines of his vest accentuated the finely sculptured planes of rippling muscles. He flexed.

 

Tannah blinked. She could not believe Keegan stooped to such levels. He flexed again. She was certain many quaked in fear of his display of brawn, but to her it seemed vastly amusing and rather juvenile for such a setting. An inappropriate burst of laughter bubbled in her throat. Several men glanced at her from under the brims of their caps. By the expressions on their faces, they did not see anything amusing in her situation. Tannah shook her head. They imagined her a sorceress. Perhaps evil. This was unique considering their profession and associates. She knew they imagined terrible deeds, but the crew’s imagination was nothing compared to what she could do to them once she regained her full strength.

 

“They do not scare me, Keegan. But, if I am to be a guest here, I would feel more comfortable if they treated me as someone who belongs among them.”

Keegan slid his heavy silken over-tunic over his head, revealing a short-sleeved shirt of the same distinctive coloring—dark green and black. The colors layered together. His hair snagged in the massive folds of the material, the static kept it floating free in the breeze. “I would feel more comfortable if they showed you the proper respect a woman of your station deserves.”

 

“Which is?”

 

“A hands-off policy is always best. Wouldn’t you agree?”

 

She couldn’t agree more, but was not about to tell him this. As a woman of her station, she wanted to tell him that, he, too, should adopt the policy. Yet she knew it was not the appropriate course of action to ensure her continued freedom and relative safety. She took the steps up to the next deck two at a time, daring a taunt. “Hmm. You question your own men? ‘Tis never a good sign.”

 

“Oh, Beautiful One, I believe you intentionally misunderstand me. I do not question them. Not for a moment. They would sooner die than betray me, and that is a lesson you would do well to remember.” The threat in his voice was not lost on her. His gaze chilled her even further as he directed the quartermaster to deliver two chairs up for their comfort. “You are a guest. You are here by my request. However, you are also my property. That is a fact. One you must face sooner or later. I care not, except sooner will be easier on you. This undeniable truth accompanies one other undeniable fact.”

 

A muscle in her jaw twitched. “And that is?”

 

“No one, and I do mean no one, would dare question my ownership.”

The image of Fionn sprang to mind. So similar in build the two men, Keegan and Fionn. Both tall, standing a good head above most men. Both broad-shouldered. Both men possessed long, flowing black hair. Beautiful black hair. Fionn’s, though, was layered and she more often than not saw him with tribal braiding interlacing the healthy strands. It was so simple, so plain, it was the most beautiful sight she remembered seeing. Keegan’s chilling blue eyes had nothing on Fionn’s endless obsidian pools. His eyes were so dark she saw herself there, reflected back. Fionn would dare challenge Keegan…if only he knew where she was.

 

She accepted the offered seat. As she sank into the chair, her breath actually caught. It felt as though someone grabbed her lungs and compressed, as though she were pulled into a dark vat. The urge to bolt from the chair overpowered her. Something in the material imprisoned her. She couldn’t move. She blinked, smiled and tried to appear natural. “I am at your disposal.”

 

“That you are.”

 

Oh, she did not like the sound of that.

 

 

Kally Jo will be hanging out, so feel free to ask her about her books or this crazy writer’s life we’ve chose!

 

 

K*

Share:

[et_social_share]

17 Comments

  1. Kally

    While K is off working on some promo, she had graciously allowed me to be a guest here. I’d love to chat with you. Hear your thoughts on the stories or how your day is going. Hop on in!

    Kally

  2. Kally

    I’d also love to give a signed copy of book I inthis series Sudden Fall Book I Yadderwal Balance. So all who participate withh get their names in a hat and I will draw a winner at the end of the day.

  3. Kally

    I’d also love to give a signed copy of book I inthis series Sudden Fall Book I Yadderwal Balance. So all who participate will get their names in a hat and I will draw a winner at the end of the day.

  4. Mary

    Read the excerpt and liked it alot. I am not a writer, though I wish I was, but I am an avid reader. Mostly horror, that is until I found K’s writing which opened up a whole new world for me.

    You ladies are awesome keep up the good works.

  5. Mary

    Read the excerpt and liked it alot. I am not a writer, though I wish I was, but I am an avid reader. Mostly horror, that is until I found K’s writing which opened up a whole new world for me.

    You ladies are awesome keep up the good works.

  6. Mary

    oops sorry for the double post :(, my bad.

  7. Kally

    It’s ok Mary – seems I double posted too. Thank you for the comment on the excerpt. What kind of horror are you into? I am currently working on a joint project I’m writing the Werewolves and the partner is writing the Vamps. It’s fairly epic.

  8. Kally

    While I’m here I want to congratulate Karin on her great RT Review for her new historical! That is wonderful news. Can’t wait to get my copy.

  9. Karin Tabke

    Hey, Kally popping in real quick. Can you tell us a little about what genres you write, how long you’ve been writing, and give us your web addy???

  10. Kally

    Sure! My web addy is http://www.KallyJoSurbeck.com
    I have been “professionally” writing since 2000/2002. 2000 I started then an auto acident set me back, but if you ask my family you can see old stories in my photo albumn that are little romantic tales. I write in several subgenres. I am a multi-published awardwinning author in all subgenres. I have an action adventure series that won and multiple finalled at the EPPIES and on the Daphne. High Fantasy that has taken the Daphne, Dream Realm, ECata Reader’s choice, Keeper awards, and got me the all coveted author of the year. I love action/adventure/hope/and faery tales and try to weave that into my writing.

  11. Kally

    I have the Luck of The Irish series – contemporary action adventure. The Such as These Trilogy – High fantasy in the vein of Xena and Quest RPG. The the Yadderwal Series, which is a High Fantasy Faery Tale. I have a few short stories that delve in the Greek Fates, and reclaiming marriage after a terrible accident threatens divorce. I was alaso lucky enough to be a part of a poetry collection. Oh Oh And my Romantic Comedy SHE BLINDED ME WITH SCIENCE FICTION about love at a Star Trek Convention. Whata hoot!

  12. Kally

    Thank you for being around today and the comments on list and on my group. Mary please contact me at ksurbeck@yahoo.com and I’ll get you that signed copy of Sudden Fall

  13. Kally

    Thank you Karin

  14. Pam P

    Love this series, hope we’ll get a third book soon, Kally.

  15. Karin Tabke

    Sorry I’ve been away from the computer! Well, away from the internet. I had a workshop to work on to present this morning, and to write as well. Workshop went well, writing not so good. It’s gray and rainy here, perfect writing weather!

    Kally, I’m really impressed by all of your awards! Wow. And dayum you are prolific on top of it all. Thank you for stopping by, and Mary enjoy!

  16. LINDA B

    SORRY LATE BUT BETTER THAN NOT AT ALL AS I JUST GOT THIS!

  17. Edie

    Kally, I’m amazed at your output. Awesome! And you write so good too!

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Archives

  • 2013 (2)
  • 2012 (7)
  • 2011 (10)
  • 2010 (41)
  • 2009 (156)
  • 2008 (165)
  • 2007 (160)
  • 2006 (149)
  • 2005 (26)